ICDL GCC Foundation

International Computer Driving License (ICDL) Standard


ICDL certification programmes consist of modules which define the skills and competencies necessary to be a proficient user of a computer and common computer applications. Each ICDL module provides a practical programme of up-to-date skills and knowledge areas which are validated by a test.  Currently, there are 7 ICDL modules in total.  

ICDL Certification: ICDL is the international standard in end-user computer skills.   Our collective experience in implementing certification programmes across education systems and government administrations has demonstrated that for a recommended level of ICT competence to be achieved which would enable effective employability, a certification of a minimum of seven ECDL / ICDL modules is appropriate.  To receive the ICDL certificate, modules 2, 3, and 7 are compulsory modules plus any 4 additional modules.  Currently, the majority of countries offer Modules 1-7.

Program Objectives

The ICDL programme is for anyone who needs to demonstrate to an international standard that they are fully competent in the use of personal computer and common computer applications and that they know the essential concepts of information technology. 

Program Contents

Module 1 - Concepts of Information and Communication Technology
Module 2 - Using the Computer and Managing Files
Module 3 - Word Processing
Module 4 – Spread Sheets
Module 5 - Using Databases
Module 6 - Presentations
Module 7 - Web Browsing and Communication

Assessment and Certification

Upon successful completion of the course, candidates will be awarded the International Computer Driving License (ICDL) Certificate from the ICDL Foundation. 

•  Examination: 
   -  Examination time: 45 minutes per module
   -   Languages: Arabic and English


Target Audience

Any Bahraini Jobseeker, 16 years or older is eligible for the scheme, they must not be enrolled in any form of formal education or any other Tamkeen program.

Any Bahraini Employee, 16 years or older, currently receiving a wage below BD 270, 350 or 400 (for high school, diploma and bachelor graduates respectively) is eligible for the scheme. They must not be enrolled in any form of formal education or any other Tamkeen program.